Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Iks and fta

  1. #1
    Junoir Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    yes I do
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0

    Iks and fta

    Before my wife makes me throw away all my fta receivers, sv hd8000, viewsat 9000hd, coolsat, limesat, etc., can I still use these with the iks side of rocket and still get all the channels on rocket? Sad day for me if I can't. I'm miss the good ole days with d tv programmers and fta boxes

  2. #2
    Bad Street Fighter Ryu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Acquiring Signal
    Posts
    3,663
    Rep Power
    214
    no more IKS. IPTV is pretty good and is the future. nice and easy
    All information provided is for informational purposes only. Use at your own risk.

  3. #3
    3 Time Nascar Pool Winner 4me2c's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Out There...!
    Posts
    6,212
    Rep Power
    252
    Can still use the Viewsat to view OTA as they are still Digital... If I am not mistaken, some of those STB's have a Spot to Add Extra Stuff, maybee one can Add the Server info from the 3 here...?!?
    WWJD...!!!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Location
    yes i do
    Posts
    291
    Rep Power
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by 4me2c View Post
    Can still use the Viewsat to view OTA as they are still Digital... If I am not mistaken, some of those STB's have a Spot to Add Extra Stuff, maybee one can Add the Server info from the 3 here...?!?
    Not one of the boxes OP mentioned can do iptv.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Location
    yes i do
    Posts
    291
    Rep Power
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by pnguin View Post
    Before my wife makes me throw away all my fta receivers, sv hd8000, viewsat 9000hd, coolsat, limesat, etc., can I still use these with the iks side of rocket and still get all the channels on rocket? Sad day for me if I can't. I'm miss the good ole days with d tv programmers and fta boxes
    If you can catch a signal from north sats the SV and VS can still be used.

  6. #6
    Transparent Wall Technician crazed 9.6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    14,581
    Rep Power
    404
    There are no FTA channels available on the North sat(s)... Ku-Band
    There is a automotive show which is FTA, on the south sat... Ku-Band

    FTA = Free To Air

    Otherwise it would be C-Band sats that carry the FTA channels, which are for the hobbists at heart
    Do not go gentle into that dark night.
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Location
    yes i do
    Posts
    291
    Rep Power
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by crazed 9.6 View Post
    There are no FTA channels available on the North sat(s)... Ku-Band
    There is a automotive show which is FTA, on the south sat... Ku-Band

    FTA = Free To Air

    Otherwise it would be C-Band sats that carry the FTA channels, which are for the hobbists at heart
    I still have one of my BUD's.

  8. #8
    Transparent Wall Technician crazed 9.6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    14,581
    Rep Power
    404
    Quote Originally Posted by big mac View Post
    I still have one of my BUD's.
    Cool

    I have a motor dish (not as big as the Big BUDS thou, but is big enough to catch lots of sats).
    Have a dual Band Invacom LNB (KUBand/C-Band / Linear or Circular signals).
    About a half dozen different FTA receivers (some are better then others for FTA)
    Mpeg4 ability is a must.

    This is how I know of any FTA channels on the KuBand sats

    They did at one time have a History channel along with some other premiums on a CBand sat (101w I think) but took those channels away some years ago.
    I use to do the hunt for sports events thing a long time ago. Watch many football and nascar events that way, but it was alot of time involved in that, it's for the true hobbyists
    Do not go gentle into that dark night.
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Location
    yes i do
    Posts
    291
    Rep Power
    20
    My buddy has been using a metre pan for years.Since my CNX days.Now that was a "project".

  10. #10
    Junoir Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    yes I do
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0
    Wow thanks for all the feedback. I also had a meter dish with several lnbs. I had a dish farm on my roof. I had a killer setup to four rooms, with diseqc so I could get d tv, Bell and even Charlie. Miss those days. I guess I'm e-wasting all this stuff because I too fat and to old to be climbing on my roof 🤣

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •