Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Request For Advice - Wiring A New House

I am just beginning the construction of a new home with a full basement and one floor above (1500 sq.ft. on each floor). I am contracting it myself, so I am my own home network sub-contractor. I'll be wiring every room with at least one Cat5e cable and will have a dedicated space in the basement utility room where it will terminate. My intent is to have an ethernet switch and my DSL modem in the utility room with a wireless access point on each floor. There will be three HDTVs (basement home theater, upstairs family room, and master bedroom) with both Sat Receivers (if IKS still works) and IPTV boxes. I have two desktop PCs, a laptop, and a couple of tablets.

I'm thinking that with IPTV becoming a reality, the use of a switch instead of a router is the right way to go. This is my last home and I want to be sure that I have a decent shot at keeping it future safe. It may be a bit of overkill now, but it should give me plenty to build upon.

Your thoughts and suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Wired is a fail safe but really an antique with modern networking. IMHOI still have my house wired even though most the house devices are wifi.I'm obtuse and resist change though.

Make sure to use gigabit switch to your wires is all I can suggest. An good ap on each floor will most likely serve everything in the future.

Thanks a bunch, BIO! I'm a retired network guy and still believe in wire, too. Yeah, I was planning on a gigabit switch. The home network switches aren't too bad for the money. Much cheaper than the ones I used to buy for my old employer.

Sounds like you're more than qualified
    I switch my internet into three routers for access points.
    Even use a few different ip ranges to isolate the traffic and monitor a little.

Will never realistically exceed my setup where I live.
    Nice not having internet problems though- been over 10 years since wired.

Warrior Member
    Hi Falcon05