Junoir Member

Did I get the wrong box?

Hello
    I'm a total newbie to this hobby, was tired of getting screwed by cable so I thought I would look at other alternatives. A week ago while at lunch with a coworker I mentioned I wanted to learn about kodi boxes. Well as luck would have it he had a jailbroken apple TV. He told me of its wonders and simplicity. The simplicity part really hooked my because I am kind of technically challenged LOL. At his suggestion I whipped out my smartphone and looked at what eBay had listed. I saw a gen 4 apple TV that said new, jailbreak complete. It was pricey but I figured it was the latest generation so that's got to be good right? I hit the buy it now, and it's on its way to me.
    Well, I guess I should have researched because I'm reading gen 4 can't be jailbroken and I guess my new box was sideloaded. Also am worried that the apps loaded will not auto update, which I know is critical for continued performance. And if I do need to add on new apps (Genesis is dead?? I have to add a replacement?!) it will be very complicated for me. So my question is...
    Did I buy a box that is hard to use,and update? Should I have bought a much cheaper android box? Are androids or apple boxes easier to use?

Thanks for reading this long post and appreciate any input..

I have no experience with apple tv, but in my opinion if you are running kodi, it doesn't matter really what platform its on. kodi is kodi.

if you want your interface to be apple, get apple. if you like android, get and android. I guess.

Junoir Member
    I'm actually an android guy, but I do have an iPad. My concern is that the apple-tv gen 4 is not the optimal box for me regarding the ease of use, capabilities of auto updating what apps are installed already plus installing new ones, etc.

Junoir Member
    you should have got an android box the apple-tv 4 is useless for kodi

well that tells it all

Junoir Member