PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbie Here

SmboBeast
07-14-2015, 05:00 AM
Hi guys,

I've been out of the game since FTA pretty much died after the Nagra 3 switch.

Lately, I was curious about things, and started to mess around with XBMC, specifically TVMC. Everything here is great and all, and it's greatly appreciated. I'm loving things with all the Video Addons, but coming from cable/satellite, I really would love to have Live TV, with accurate an EPG. I'm finding it difficult to get both of these.

Aside from this, I keep on having to update my lists (as I'm sure you all do as well) to constantly keep channels up. Are there paid subscriptions that would offer a better situation? Is that what iksprivateserver and iksrocket are?

Finally, all these boxes are so confusing, and everyone has such a different opinion on things. I was going to go with ASUS Chromebox, but lately I'm reading about more formal IPTV set-top boxes such as AVOV and MAG254/255. Are these all considered set-top boxes? Do they fall under the same category?

I'm mainly interested in making a smooth transition from a paid service like satellite/cable to IPTV, especially since some in the household aren't tech savvy. Would love to record live TV, have a working EPG, and have quality and stable feeds. What would my best option be?

Thanks

CableCost$
07-14-2015, 05:07 AM
Right now is a big tranbsition period. For one, nobody knows whether Kodi will work or not (although we're pretty sure it will). Therefore we don't know the limitations of each device. What we do know is that it will support AVOV & the MAG boxes. I would wait until everyones knows fore sure. Which will be the 15th when the server goes private.

crazed 9.6
07-14-2015, 05:09 AM